Pisa, Italy

July 4-6, 2007

Organised by the Euromicro Technical Committee on Real-time Systems


The nineteenth EUROMICRO Conference on Real-Time Systems (ECRTS'07) is a forum aimed at covering state-of-the-art research and development in real-time computing. Papers on all aspects of real-time systems are welcome. These include, but are not limited to:

consumer electronics; multimedia and entertainment; process control; avionics, aerospace; automotive; telecommunications.

communication networks; embedded devices; hardware/software co-design; power-aware and other resource-constrained techniques; systems on chip; time engines and time synchronization; wireless sensor networks.

compiler support; component-based approaches; middleware and distribution technologies; programming languages and operating systems.

modelling and formal methods; probabilistic analysis for RT systems; quality of service support; reliability, security and survivability in RT systems; scheduling and schedulability analysis; worst-case execution time analysis; validation techniques.

This year we want to continue encouraging the submission of papers on industrial case studies, application of real-time technology on realistic systems, and real-time operating systems implementations. An Advisory Board of representatives from industries has been appointed to evaluate papers with respect to industrial or strategic impact.


Full papers must be submitted electronically through our web form in pdf format (available soon from The material must be unpublished and not under submission elsewhere. The paper must be in the same format as in the final published proceedings (10 pages maximum, 2 columns, 10 pt). Papers exceeding the maximum length will not be reviewed. See the submission page for more details.

  • Notice: Papers exceeding such limits may not be considered for review.


Pursuing a successful tradition in the ECRTS series, a special Work in Progress (WiP) session will be organised. This session is mainly intended for presentation of on-going and recent work. Additionally, a set of Satellite Workshops focusing on hot topics will be organised. These include the continuation of the already successful real-time networks (RTN), worst-case execution time (WCET), and Operating System Platforms for Embedded Real-Time Applications (OSPERT) workshops. A separate call for papers will be issued later for both WiP and satellite workshops. Please visit the conference website later for further information. The main conference will include Keynote Sessions. In this year's edition, besides the Best Paper Award, a selection of best papers will be invited for a Special Issue of an international journal.


Submission of full papers: 14 January 2007 21 January 2007
Notification of acceptance:16 March 2007
Camera-ready paper due: 16 April 2007


Pisa is a university city with a population of nearly 100,000 (including 40,000 students - not all of whom are resident). It is situated in Tuscany, close to the coast and just 80 km from Florence. Once a Marine Republic, Pisa stretches along the shores of the Arno River, and occupies a place of honor amongst the most exclusive of art cities. Its glorious past offers authentic wonders to the tourist, and there is lot more to see than just the leaning Tower of Pisa, its most popular 'product'. Pisa is very well connected: it has an international airport, "Galileo Galilei", located 2 km from the city center, with frequent flights to many European airports operated by major flight companies, including discount airlines. The railway station is located on the main line from Turin to Rome and there is a very frequent train service to and from Florence.


General Chair

Program Chair

Real-Time Technical Committee Chair

Local Organisers


Tarek Abdalzaher, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, USA
Alejandro Alonso, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
James H. Anderson, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA
Theodore P. Baker, Florida State University, USA
Sanjoy Baruah, The University of North Carolina, USA
Luca Benini, DEIS Università di Bologna, Italy
Scott Brandt, University of California, Santa Cruz, USA
Alan Burns, University of York, UK
Marco Caccamo, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Samarjit Chakraborty, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Jean-Dominique Decotignie, CSEM, Switzerland
Rolf Ernst, TU Braunschweig, Germany
Gerhard Fohler, Technische Universitaet Kaiserslautern, Germany
Shelby Funk, University of Georgia, USA
Sebastien Gerard, CEA-List, France
Steve Goddard, University of Nebraska, USA
Zdenek Hanzalek, Czech Technical University in Prague (CTU), Czech Republic
Hermann Härtig, TU Dresden, Germany
Joerg Henkel, University of Karlsruhe, Germany
George Lima, Federal University of Bahia (UFBA), Brasil
Giuseppe Lipari, Scuola Superiore Sant'Anna, Italy
Ying Lu, University of Nebraska Lincoln, USA
Pau Martí, Technical University of Catalonia, Spain
Pedro Mejia Alvarez, CINVESTAV-IPN, Mexico
Daniel Mossé, University of Pittsburgh, USA
Luis Miguel Pinho, Polytechnic Institute of Porto, Portugal
Isabelle Puaut, University of Rennes / IRISA, France
Peter Puschner, Technische Universitaet Wien, Austria
Tei-Wei Kuo, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
Pascal Richard, University of Poitiers, France
Ismael Ripoll, Universidad Politecnica de Valencia, Spain
Rodrigo Santos, Universidad Nacional del Sur-CONICET, Argentina
Eduardo Tovar, Polytechnic Institute of Porto, Porto, Portugal
Tullio Vardanega, University of Padua, Italy
Rich West, Boston University, USA


Johan Eker, Ericsson
Francisco Gómez-Molinero, Visual Tools S.A.
Thorbjörn Jemander, Enea Epact AB
Dr Nigel Tracey, ETAS GmbH
Sjir van Loo, Philips Research Laboratories Eindhoven
Virginie Watine, Thales